This week gave us some JAMS! I’ve had a few on repeat this past week, see if you can guess which ones!

///

Shaolin’s Theme / Pray // Malay & 6LACK

Image result for the get down

The Get Down is a musical drama on Netflix set in the South Bronx of New York City in the late 1970s. It’s about the introduction to the beginning of hip hop, complete with turntables, which is scratching a vinyl record over and over on one part of a song to create an awesome beat.

Personally, I’m a huge fan of the show, and I’m thrilled that there’s a second season waiting in my Netflix queue for me to watch. I’m impressed with the acting of all the young kids in the show, and the music is phenomenal.

Singer 6LACK features on Malay’s track. 6LACK is an up and coming rapper and is going on tour with The Weeknd this summer.

Shaolin’s Theme/Pray has 70s karate music vibes to it, just like main character’s Shaolin’s favorite thing in the world: Bruce Lee movies. The music and lyrics remind me of hyping up for a UFC match. It’s simple but catchy. It doesn’t try to do the most and sends the message out quick and easy.

(Be sure to watch The Get Down on Netflix! Highly recommend that too!)

Listen to Shaolin’s Theme/Pray here!

There’s Nothing Holding Me Back // Shawn Mendes

Image result for shawn mendes illuminate

Shawn Mendes started off as a singer on the popular social media app Vine. He’s talented, there’s no doubt, but I always saw him as another basic teenage singer with no real unique quality to him. I thought his song ‘Stitches’ was going to be his fifteen minutes of fame, and then he’d get swept under the rug like a lot of other basic artists have in the past.

Mendes surprised me with this new track. I already can tell it’s going to be inescapable on the radio this summer, but I wouldn’t mind. It’s fun and catchy, he’s really showing his vocal talents and his ability to be different in this song. He’s bringing a lot more edge to his sound.

This song is part of the deluxe edition of his ‘Illuminate’ album that he re-released to include this new feisty single.

Listen to There’s Nothing Holding Me Back here!

Attention // Charlie Puth

Image result for charlie puth attention

Okay, if you gave up on guessing which songs have been in my rotation this week, it’s definitely Charlie Puth’s newest song.

*queue cheesy pun about this song getting my attention, haha*

Seriously though, I can’t stop listening to this song. It starts off slow with a bit of guitar and Puth’s vocals. Once the chorus starts, there is a heavy bassline that reminds me of New York City at night. It’s a definite song to groove to. I’m obsessed.

Funnily enough, Charlie Puth will join Shawn Mendes on tour this summer!

Listen to Attention here!

Despacito – Remix (feat. Justin Bieber) // Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee

Image result for despacito justin bieber remix

This is another song I can’t stop listening to this week.

I know I’ve said in the past that I’m boyband obsessed, so you’d think I’d be a fan of Justin Bieber.

Hah, sike.

I wasn’t a fan when he first started out, I was totally one of those people to say he sounds like a girl. Over the years he’s grown on me as an artist. His album ‘Purpose’ was impressive, and after his brief meltdowns over the last couple of years, ‘Despacito’ is exactly what he needed.

‘Despacito’ is a Latin song by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee. The song has taken off on the Latin charts all across the globe, but Bieber’s added flare just introduced it to everyone else. His remix doubled listeners after it was released.

It’s a fun song, filled with the traditional Latin music and Spanish lyrics by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee. ‘Despacito’ means slowly, or gently when translated to English, and the song delivers that slower vibe while still creating a song to shake your hips to. Bieber even sings in Spanish, which, may I add, is pretty awesome.

Listen to Despacito-Remix here!

Song of the Week: Swalla (feat. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign) // Jason Derulo

^^ This is another one of my favorite songs from this week!

Until next week, music lovers!

