It’s obvious that certain sound sells better than others. Artists know what’s popular and what’s not. There isn’t much originality out there anymore, especially with what’s on the radio. A lot of artists and bands realize that, so they conform to this distinct sound not to appease listeners, but to gain new audiences that are hooked on this mainstream sound.

Mainstream nowadays is that basic electric dance music. Going to festivals is becoming an ever popular trend, and every artist that hops up onstage at the fests sound the same. Same generic music, same beats, nothing new.

When I was younger, I remember there wasn’t this much copying and similarity. Everything is starting to sound the same, which is going to get real old real fast.

There’s a huge difference between a band or artist changing their sound for the good and a band or artist changing their sound to sell more songs.

Panic! At the Disco has changed their sound little by little over the years, and they do it tastefully. A lot of fans old and new agree that their sound is a lot better now than it was ten years ago. I know I definitely jumped on the fan-wagon.

Green Day has always had a pretty similar sound since they started out. They tweak it here and there, but it sounds like genuine Green Day and they still go on worldwide tours and are super successful.

Then, there’s Fall Out Boy.

///

Young And Menace // Fall Out Boy

Image result for young and menace fall out boy

‘Take This to Your Grave, From Under The Cork Tree, Infinity on High and even Folie a Deaux are Fall Out Boy’s iconic albums. They gave us hits like ‘Dance, Dance’, ‘Sugar We’re Goin’ Down’, ‘This Ain’t a Scene, it’s an Arms Race’ and ‘Where is Your Boy’, just to name a few.

Fall Out Boy has been a staple in my house for the last ten years. They’re my younger sister’s favorite band of all time. We were bummed when they went on hiatus between 2008 and 2013. When they returned in 2013 with their album ‘Save Rock and Roll’, I was blown away with how different their sound became. They did it in a tasteful way, though.

Although it was different, they didn’t dive headfirst into a totally different sound. ‘My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark’ was certified 3x platinum by the end 0f 2013, and was used as the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs hype song. FOB came back with a vengeance and it worked.

Two years later in 2015, the ‘American Beauty/American Psycho’ album was released and I thought it was just OK. Obviously they did well on the radio with songs like ‘Centuries’, ‘Uma Thurman’ and ‘Immortals’. Other than that, I wasn’t super blown away with the entire discography the way I was with ‘Save Rock and Roll’.

Now, there’s their current single ‘Young And Menace’. I am not impressed. It sounds nothing like them. I played the song for my roommates without telling them it was Fall Out Boy, and by the end of the song, one roommate said, “They sounded like a nightmare version of Fall Out Boy.”

Fall Out Boy conformed to ultra-mainstream with this single. It went number one on Billboard and trended worldwide on Twitter, but just because it trended, doesn’t mean it went over well with listeners. Many Twitter users tweeted their dissatisfaction with the new song, saying it sucked and they aren’t fans of it. One user even said, “I can’t believe I am saying this but I officially do not like Fall Out Boy’s new song L.”

The song doesn’t sound like their emo pop punk selves anymore. They sound like The Chainsmokers wannabes; generic EDM that everyone hears everywhere nowadays.

Sigh. Fall Out Boy, please go emo again.

I know I usually discuss music I enjoy, and I enjoy Fall Out Boy and always have, which is why I feel inclined to announce how sad I am about their new direction.

Listen to Young And Menace here,  maybe you’ll think differently about the song!

////

Here are some of the songs I actually enjoyed this week!

I’m the One (feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne) // DJ Khaled

Image result for i'm the one dj khaled justin bieber

I thought this was the most bizarre array of artists featured on a song. DJ Khaled makes it work though! His music stylings complimented the artists’ vocals perfectly. I was expected a hardcore rap song when I first listened, but it’s chilled out and fun to listen to. This song is definitely going to be heard over and over this summer. Between Justin Bieber and Chance the Rapper, I can’t stop listening!

Listen to I’m The One here!

My Love (feat. Major Lazer, WizKid & Dua Lipa) // Wale

Image result for my love wale

I’ve always enjoyed Major Lazer. Whether they feature on songs or come out with their own music, they create a unique sound based off of EDM and Caribbean influences.

This week they were featured on Wale’s new track, also featuring rapper WizKid and up and coming singer Dua Lipa. This is Wale’s 5th studio album, called ‘SHINE’. Other artists such as Lil Wayne and Chris Brown are also featured on the album.

The song is infectious, filled with Jamaican dancehall vibes and gives listeners a taste of summer. It’s perfect for listening to by the pool or at the beach.

Listen to My Love here!

Torches // X Ambassadors

Image result for torches x ambassadors

One of my favorite songs is by the X Ambassadors, called ‘Gorgeous’, so I was really excited to hear new music from the band.

‘Torches’ is their usual vivacious rock anthem tunes. They stick close to home with their vocals and sound. It’s a fun rock song that anyone would love.

Listen to Torches here!

///

Song of the Week: Iron Pyrite // Lemaitre

until next time, music lovers!

